I Love You

When is the right time to say those three little words?

I think there’s a difference between being in love with someone and loving someone, but I think the distinction is often hazy, and for good reason because there are so many different ways of loving different people.

To me, loving someone is that deep feeling of comfort and a desire to make sure they’re happy. It’s feeling absolutely helpless when they’re sad or hurt, and wanting nothing more than to be there for them in any way that makes them feel even the slightest bit better. It’s that physical ache that you feel when you miss them, and that complete feeling of content when you’re close, or even just when you’re talking. It’s caring for someone and knowing that their needs far exceed your own, putting them before anything because seeing them happy fills you with warmth. It’s never really stopping loving them, no matter what happens. It’s knowing that the idea of losing them petrifies you.

Being in love with someone is slightly different; it’s all of those things but on a different level, one that can be either stronger or weaker than simply loving someone.

When talking to my friend about this, he said that when you’re in love with someone ‘you just know’, but I’m not so sure; to me being in love suggests that one could fall out of love. That idea scares me, so I think that loving somone and being in love with someone come together in the form of ‘love’ and that really they’re just two branches of a bigger tree, but loving someone is a purer sense of that emotion.

I know that there are people who I love, in both ways, and I know that telling those people could so easily be misunderstood because of the stigma attached to the three little words.

I know that there are people I love far more than others in a completely different way to the way I love, say, my sister or my best friend. It’s strange, because the whole idea of love is terrifying to me because if it goes unreciprocated then it would hurt more than anything I can imagine, yet if it was mutual it could be the best thing in the world.

Ultimately, I think it’s one of the strongest emotions there is, and its power is what terrrifies me most.

But to answer my question, I don’t think there is necessarily a ‘right’ time to tell someone ‘I love you’ because it could be misinterpreted or meant in so many more ways than one. But either way, I think you really do ‘just know’ when you love someone, and in whatever form that may be I think it’s important that you let those people know just how much they mean to you.

3 thoughts on “I Love You”

  1. This is such a meaningful blog post, especially as we often just throw around the words “like” and “love” carelessly. I am guilty of this, too haha…but then again…understanding love is really difficult. And at the same time, it’s really important to express appreciation. Thanks for touching on this topic in your blog post 🙂
    Anyways, I just wanted to let you know that I have nominated you for the Liebster Award, an award for new bloggers to publicize your blog more. Please check out your nomination and what you can do with your nomination here: https://musingsofablueberry.wordpress.com/2016/04/20/liebster-award-newbloggerontheblock/
    Have a nice rest of your day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

